The Exhibitors
The Exhibitions
Interior Architectures
Linking People

Michelangelo as an Architect
Abitare il Tempo Prize 2008
The Mechanisms of Time

Rolf Fehlbaum

The Abitare il Tempo prize is awarded annually to an “ individual or body who has contributed, through their own activity and in their field, to the development of design as an ethical and aesthetic activity…”. Rolf Fehlbaum, managing director of the Swiss company Vitra, is perhaps the entrepreneur who has best worked to this end in a complex business, whose only historical precedents, are, in their different ways, Walter Rathenau and Adriano Olivetti. Felhbaum has, over the years, commissioned designs from the most interesting contemporary designers; he has revived the work of some of the principal designers of the twentieth century, such as Eames and Verner Panton, and individuals, surprisingly ignored over the years, such as George Nelson and Jean Prouvé; he has re-organised the spatial layout of his company using works by some of the principal architects and artists of our times. Fehlbaum set up the Vitra Design Museum, has promoted exhibitions, organised workshops and won prizes. In the contemporary panorama, testimony to a company philosophy which promotes innovation and experimentation, and testifies to the linguistic and research plurality which characterises this third phase of the industrial revolution.

Prize Abitare il Tempo 2002 Ettore Sottsass
Prize Abitare il Tempo 2003 Maddalena De Padova
Prize Abitare il Tempo 2004 Pierluigi Cerri
Prize Abitare il Tempo 2005 Vico Magistretti and Michele De Lucchi
Prize Abitare il Tempo 2006 Ingo Maurer
Prize Abitare il Tempo 2007 Alessandro Mendini

Home | Versione Italiano